Something doesn’t add up…

Posted: June 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’m taking a math class. 
That’s right:  everything I write
for the forseeable future will involve school. 
Deal with it.  I’m in Math 060,
also known as Pre-Algebra.  For those who
don’t know me, I am not a math person.  I
can write, I can do spatial relations, and I can reason my way through most
science.  Math has previously been the
bane of my existence.  I have taken every
math class in high school twice, with the exception of Geometry (spatial
relations!).  This will mark the third
trip through Pre-Algebra.

There is a joke among my friends, because I work out math
problems in the shower that tell me interesting stuff (i.e. how many miles per
hour is 1ft/sec?).  This sort of thing
combined with my legendary numerical idiocy draws the conclusion that I’m good
at math as long as there is water pouring down on me.  “We need to know x! Put Justin in the shower!”

Here then, is the nut-cutter:  I’m totally kicking this math class’s
ass.  Maybe I just wasn’t ready to get it
before, and now I am.  Even though I’m in
what equates to remedial math at this point in my life, I no longer fear x.  
We’ll see if this keeps up, but I finally feel like I know what the hell
I’m doing.  Now if only that would leach into the rest of my life…

Comments
  1. Roberta says:

    I like the idea of solving problems in the shower… I have some problems I’m gonna need you to solve… so when should I meet you in the shower?

  2. Heidi says:

    YAY!!!! i am so happy for you!!!!! hope things continue to go well for you…..

  3. Deandra says:

    So….?  D’ya manage to totally kick it’s ass?

Leave a Reply

