Wisdom

Posted: December 10, 2008 in Love
Fox was travelling through the forest when it came to a river.  The water was deep with runoff, but Fox was a strong swimmer.  As he went to put his paw in, he heard a voice.  Looking down, he saw a scorpion.  “Hello,” said the scorpion.  “Would you please carry me across this river?  It is too deep for me to cross.”
“I cannot help you,” said Fox.  “You would sting me and I would die.”
“I would do no such thing.  I could not cross the river on my own, and I would be riding on you.  My life would be in your hands,” replied the scorpion.
Finally the fox acquiesced, and the scorpion climbed onto Fox’s back.  Fox set out across the river.  As he neared the middle, Fox said, “We are near the deepest part.  You must climb on my head or you will be washed away.”  The scorpion climbed on to Fox’s head.  As the water flowed up over Fox’s back, the scorpion stung Fox on the nose.  Fox looked up at the scorpion, betrayal shining in his eyes.  “Why did you do that?  Now we will both die!”
“Well, I am still a scorpion,” said the scorpion.
Comments
  1. Roberta says:

    Hey… I am a scorpion… what are you saying about me foxy?

  2. Justin says:

    Just saying it’s in your nature to do what you do.

  3. Sabrina says:

    Fox should listen to his instincts. What about Fox’s nature? Is it to always help even against logic and intuition? How does fox save himself?

  4. Justin says:

    That is a good question.

Leave a Reply

