Counter Soup

Posted: February 21, 2009 in Work
Yeah, I know it’d be abbreviated as “Supe,” but my way is funnier. I got to work at a new store today. There was a labor crisis of sorts, so I got called to go to this other store and work a shift before my own scheduled shift at my own store. It’s more fun than it sounds, I promise. When I got there, the district manager (DM) was there. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, although everyone gets a wee bit edgy when she’s around. As the acting shift manager (SM) put me in to the computer, she asked, “What position are you?” Before I could reply, the DM looked over and said, “Counter supervisor.” Finally. Hallelujah! I was suddenly bulletproof. The SM eventually asked how long I’d been with the company, and I told her, “Black Friday was my first day.” Technically, it was the day before Thanksgiving, but all I was doing was unpacking boxes for that evening so I don’t really count it. Her follow-up question was along the lines of how I managed to move up so fast, to which I replied, “I worked my butt off.” The other side, of course, is that I’m willing to do things like go work at another store when they need me, or to cover a shift (also when they need me). When I got to my own store, the SM there updated my status too, so now I’m legit. w00t!
Comments
  1. Sabrina says:

    Congrats! Working your butt off! Nice!

Leave a Reply

