Incompetent

Posted: February 26, 2009 in Work
So this is a new feeling… I’m used to convincing people that I’m a bit dim to make my life a little easier. Recently I decided that this approach was kind of pathetic, because I was starting to be suckered by my own con. So, I put my body and mind in gear and started bringing my “A” game to things. I felt good about it. Now when someone thinks I’m dim or incapable, I get a little offended.

My newest manager thinks I’m incompetent. Worse, she thinks I’m an idiot. She talks to me like I’m a child all the time. I told her to give me a chance (my exact words) and she said no (her EXACT FUCKING WORDS). I’m irked. I work hard. I’ve only been at my job for a few months and I’ve convinced all my other managers, plus the district manager (!), that I am worthy of being Counter Supervisor. They showed a little faith by putting me on visuals (the way the clothing is presented), and have told me that ‘I done good.’ So why is it that this one person who happens to have authority over me in the workplace thinks so little of me? Did I not bust my ass trying to make sure everything got done? Have I once harassed her about the multiple times (this week alone, it’s been every night!) that the registers got miscounted? I’m spending an inordinate amount of time at work trying to calm myself down.

I’m unusual in the social sense. Maybe that awkwardness is making her think I’m stupid. I don’t know. I have to find a way to be happier at work though… My dour disposition is hurting my Key Performance Indicators. I don’t want her to have any more reason to think I can’t handle my job.

Comments
  1. Sabrina says:

    Well…could it be sexism? It seriously sounds like a lot of problems I have encountered in my life, just reversed. She may not think a male should be working at a female retail store. I mean, you are a good looking guy with no previous fashion….anything. Sorry to say boy, but fashion isn’t really your strong suit (so to say). You’re good looking these days, I;ll give you that, and I have found that fashion is something you CAN learn (as I am here in CZ). It really just sounds like she’s doggin’ ya because you’re a dude. I’ve known plenty of men who beyond my efforts to prove otherwise have belived me to be a complete incompetent, helpless, dimwitted female. Sexism …for men. …but not in a sexy way. I am sorry babe. I apologise for women like this. I’ve been like this before too…I hope you find a way to be happy at work. Just remember…. skinny-bitchy store. 🙂

Leave a Reply

