Dress Up

Posted: September 7, 2010 in Fighting, SCA

I recently started wearing some different clothing when I fight.  It’s much lighter weight and breathes better, and I look  pretty good in it.  There are pics on Facebook from 3 Stags if you desire a glimpse.  I’m torn now though; do I make up more color-appropriate versions of this stuff?  I really do look good in the white, but I love the black and gold.  Would the same clothes look as good on me in different colors?  I will admit, the aesthetic concerns are kind of secondary to another wardrobe issue I’m having.  My elbow protection is slowly failing.  It has served me well lo these past six years, and changing armor is always at least a little awkward and sometimes expensive.  I do need to change it though.  I’d just as soon not suffer a broken joint, y’know.  I wish I’d thought to do something before my local armorer closed up shop and moved away, but money is kind of a factor.

Also, I’m starting to kick around ideas for a Halloween costume.  I could probably do “The Situation” of Jersey Shore fame, but I don’t want to be a douchebag.  I thought about assorted methods of being a Twilight leech (the funniest: a shirt that says “My name is Twilight and I am a Dracula”), but that has the same problem as being a guy from Jersey Shore.  The only decent red Power Ranger costume I found was a tad on the pricey side, and I won’t have time for a DIY helmet.  I’m thinking either angsty mummy a la Penny Arcade, or the Invisible Man.  Very similar costumes, really…  Oh well.  I still have time to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

