Vibe

Posted: September 12, 2010 in Love, Work

I got another dude’s phone number yesterday.  I think I come equipped with a high-powered gaydar jammer.  This isn’t the first time that’s happened, and I’m positive that it won’t be the last.  I believe the issue is thusly:  I try to reinforce people’s clothing decisions at work.  I either let them know I think that’s a good look, or try to steer them toward something better.  It’s a part of doing my job, and I like to be good at it.  Hell, I think a monkey could do my job, so I BETTER do it well.  I suppose it’s possible that I am too friendly?  I don’t know.  Sometimes people are resistant to my smile, so I keep the dial hovering at around eleven.  I try to treat everyone like they’re special.  (I know: when everyone is special, no one is.  This is a running theme in my life these days.)  Statistically I’m bound to come across those people who can’t tell that I’m trying to be friendly and that’s all.  Completely separate from that it that I have heard that I dress too nicely to be straight, but let that go.  It seems that the only answer is to become a grungy, scowling, homophobic fashion-suicide. If you need me, I’ll be dressing in old Hooters t-shirts and not bathing and calling everyone ‘fag.’

Comments
  1. Shyloh says:

    You dont put out gay vibes. You are just so nice that people mistake it as being gay. Pretty bad when the majority of men dont have manors these days.

  2. Sabrina says:

    Maybe he’s not gay.. maybe he is just being friendly too. …But more importantly…..are you going to call him?

  3. Justin says:

    He came in today and apologized. He was worried that he made it awkward. I probably won’t call him, unless we end up becoming friends. He is a regular at the mall, after all.

  4. Kelsvs says:

    He’s come in to my store several times. Turns out we ARE becoming friends.

Leave a Reply

