Fratri

Posted: October 2, 2010 in Family

Oh, man. Where do I start? In order of eldest to youngest, I guess…

I’m not really that worried about Aaron. He’s a big boy, and he can take care of himself. I don’t think he should move to Grand Junction for a girl, but I’m not exactly a paragon of good decisions when it comes to women either. Other than that, he’s doing better than he ever has, as far as I can tell. Good on him.

Brett is turning out to be a lot like our mother in some ways. Some BAD ways. I hear that he’s started having suicidal thoughts. He gets violently angry at unexpected times. He takes things so seriously and so literally that he’s hard to relax around. I realize that this is likely because he’s got Asperger’s Syndrome, but that doesn’t make it somehow less true. He and his girlfriend had a child when he was 16 and they are doing okay together, but outside factors are starting to stir up trouble. Her family is devout Mormon, and her dad is positive that these are the End Times. As such, he quit his job sometime last year and refuses to get a new one. The family, which is properly Mormon-sized, is scattering to the winds to find places to live now because they’ve been evicted. I’m sure you can guess how this is stressful to Brett’s non-traditional family. Worse, Brett doesn’t have his high school diploma yet. I told him he needs to fucking get it (my EXACT words) and not make the same mistakes I did, but I worry that I failed to impress upon him how serious I am.

I’m much less worried about Andrew, but “less” isn’t the same as “not worried at all.” Neither of the younger two brothers is very good about hygiene, but Andrew is the worst offender. They don’t clean their rooms or bathroom, and they don’t shower or do laundry with any regularity. Andrew doesn’t even trim his nails. His social skills aren’t terrible, but I don’t know anyone who’s charming enough to be that… unkempt and still make a good impression.

I wish I was better at helping people. In this case, I don’t even know what I could do.

Leave a Reply

