Disconnected

Posted: October 31, 2010 in Deep Thoughts, Mental health

I think I broke me again.  The week before last, I got pretty violently ill.  It was so bad that I had to take a day off of work, which isn’t really a thing I do.  The days that I did work, I was lackluster at best.  You could tell that something was wrong in my bearing and I wasn’t what I refer to as competent.  So it was that once I felt better, I resolved to get back on my game.  A simple enough thing, and I did it well.

And yet.

The week ground to a close tonight, and instead of going to one of the multiple Halloween parties, I crashed early.  I set out all my crap on the bathroom counter, stared into the mirror for a solid five minutes, and then walked back to my room and fell on my bed.  I was depressed that I didn’t feel like partying, but now I don’t even feel that.

At work today, a customer and I were discussing Halloween.  I had said something along the lines that it was the only day of the year where everyone acknowledges the fact that we’re wearings masks.  He favored the idea that it’s the one day of the year when no one is wearing a mask.  What if he was right?  If I were to dress as what I am on the inside, how would I go about dressing up as empty?

 

Leave a Reply

