Lab Rat part 36

Posted: February 19, 2011 in Fiction, Test Subject

“Yeah, you’re right. It’ll be ok.” I close my eyes for a moment, then open them. I feel like I should warn her to hide when the shit hits the fan. I don’t want anyone to get hurt. I don’t want to freak her out though. I’ll just make sure that the action follows me. I shake my head slowly. I suck at this secret identity crap. They don’t talk about this kind of thing in the comics. They really glaze over the idea that you have to be super careful all the time. I think for a minute as Lexi continues her dance. One thing I can probably reasonably ask from Keegan is a degree of privacy. Whatever this audition entails, I’m sure he’d like the idea of having a secret weapon. From there, I just have to figure out an escape. I’ll have to figure out where I’m moving to. I can’t stay where I am now. These guys would just be back. One thing at a time though. A warm hand on my face brings me out of my head.

“Where’d you go, handsome?” Lexi’s face is right in mine. She almost looks concerned. She definitely looks beautiful. I feel the magnetism between her lips and mine. I remember that it’s her job to make me want her. I must be sobering up a little.

“Just relaxing, like you said.” I smile at her. “You’re very pretty.”

“I know.” She smiles back.

“Almost makes me wish I could come back here sometime.”

“Only almost?” She sticks out her lower lip in a pout.

“This place is a little upscale for me. And Mister Parish and I may not come to an agreement tonight.” I sigh.

“You had fun though. You’ll just have to make it happen.” She stares into my eyes. I try hard to remember that although strippers are people, they make their living by doing exactly this kind of thing.

“You’re right, Lexi. I did have fun. I’ll try to come back sometime.” I peel my back off of the couch. I don’t think I’ve just sat in a very long time. It’s tempting to just stay here. I sit so that Lexi starts to slide off of my lap. She does a graceful dismount and retrieves her top. I stand up and stretch. My eyes wander around the curves of her body. She catches me looking, and bounces a little. I laugh. “Sorry. Only human.” She stands on tip toes and kisses me on a stubbly cheek.

“It’s okay. I know I’m hot.” She vanishes through the arched doorway. I breathe deeply. It’s one thing to have someone roll you for your wallet. It’s another thing to blindside some jerks who are shitting on the little guy. This thing I’m about to do is something new. My fingertips tingle and my mouth tastes like metal. I’m scared. I walk out through the arch. I can’t see anything but the spot-lit stages. There are four dancers going through various routines, and shapes in the shadows watching them. I guess at where Keegan was sitting and start picking my way through the darkness.

Set this up to post before I went to work today. I still don’t know what I’m going to tell them. Of course I don’t want to work there anymore. I still don’t have a replacement job though. Much like Asher, I’m scared of what happens next. Running won’t help. I don’t know who to talk to or even what to say. This is what happens when you start thinking you’ve seen enough that you can handle anything. You’d think I would have known that.

Leave a Reply

