Lab Rat part 65

Posted: March 30, 2011 in Fiction, Test Subject
Tags: ,

“You can’t possibly still be hungry.” Dad’s definitely irritated. “There was enough food there for the three of us for a couple of days.” I sigh, and it turns into a belch. I know how much food there was, thanks. Jennifer pulls out a couple of IV bags. “Jenny, don’t -.”

“Look, dad. I know what I’m doing.” I take the bags. It may only be true of this one thing, but I do know what I’m doing. I set the IV bags in the wreckage of our food supply. I take a deep breath, and hit the injector. The fire crawls through me. Forget what I said earlier; it is starting to feel good. Maybe I just let go of the dread of the feeling. Or maybe it’s actually addictive. Something to think about, for sure, but now isn’t the time. As the warmth fades, my body starts to itch. I can feel things moving around in my leg. I clench my jaw so hard I think my gums might bleed, and a grunt slips out anyway. My face feels like it’s covered in a wool blanket. I rub it to stop the sensation, and I’m rewarded with shreds of burned and blistered skin. I hear a series of pops from my leg as things are yanked back into place. Black spots swim in front of my eyes.

I pull my shoulder bandage off, and a neat weave of thread falls off. I flex my arms. No pain. I pull wires and tubes off of myself. The heart monitor panics, and Jennifer reaches over and shuts it off. The look on her face is one of shock. I breathe in deeply for what feels like the first time in days. It probably is the first time in days. I open up the IV bags still in my lap, and drink them. They taste awful, but I’ve got to get the stuff inside me quickly. I’m ravenous again already. I become aware that Dad and Jennifer are still staring at me. “Uh, you guys okay?” No one says anything. “I’m, uh, feeling a lot better now, but I have a catheter to take out and I need a shower. That cool?” I smell very unwashed, and I’m covered in the flaky remnants of my scabs. It’s incredibly gross. Finally, Dad speaks.

“How’s the leg?”

“Good as new.” I haven’t tried it, but I know it will work now. “Seriously though, I want to take out my catheter. It’s uncomfortable.”

“You’re going to have to let Jennifer do that. I’m going for a walk.” I look at Jennifer, and she nods. Sometimes I think doctors just like seeing me naked. On the other hand, even with my ability to heal for the next few minutes, I don’t want to hurt myself. I sigh and lay back. To her credit, Jennifer works quickly. In no time I get to feel the bizarre sensation of the tube being pulled from my urethra. I gag a little, but it’s over in under a minute.

I spent all day around people yesterday, and I only talked to four of them. I just don’t have anything to say to people. Hell, I’m even running out of things to say online. That isn’t to say that I’ll stop posting here; I still have a story to tell. I am tempted to shut down my Facebook, but then no one would EVER know what I was up to. Unless I specifically want to share something with someone, I’m bad at telling anyone anything.

Yeah, I know you noticed.

Leave a Reply

