Razed

Posted: October 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m staring at the monitor on my laptop.  It is currently telling me that there is no recoverable data and patiently waiting for me to approve a fresh install of the operating system.  All the Christmas photos from last year are gone.  Every work in progress in Word is gone.  Every character sheet and campaign idea is gone.  I know I’m a god-damned idiot for not thoroughly backing everything up.  I have no one to blame but myself.  That doesn’t stop me from being filled with volcanic rage. 

This blog is now very nearly the sum of my written works.  By happy accident, I have Test Subject.docx saved on my phone, as well as the PowerPoint file for Radiant.  My camera’s memory card will still have some photos and videos.  Facebook and Skydrive still have photos.  Anything I didn’t share with you is now gone.

My mouth tastes like ash.

Leave a Reply

